Virginia Tech®home

People

Fralin Life Sciences Institute | People

collage of people within the FLSI family

Acknowledging there will be major environmental and societal crises in the years ahead, Virginia Tech is home to the Fralin Life Sciences Institute dedicated to the discovery and innovation of the planet’s sustainability and tackling environmental life science challenges. 

Executive Director

Matt Hulver - Director of Fralin Life Sciences Institute. Photo courtesy of Alex Crookshanks for Virginia Tech.

Matt Hulver

Executive Director
Professor
hulvermw@vt.edu

Matt Hulver joined the Fralin Life Sciences Institute as the Executive Director in 2020, and he and the leadership team are shaping the vision and strategic foci of the Fralin Life Sciences Institute. As an investment research institute, the Fralin Life Sciences Institute is an arm of the Office of the Vice President of Research and Innovation, and strategically supports the environmental and life sciences research enterprise with state of the art research facilities, core services, thematically-focused research centers, and resources devoted to research development such as proposal development, facility management, and programmatic support.

Profile

horizontal maroon line test

Leadership Team

Bill Hopkins

Bill Hopkins

Bill Hopkins
Associate Executive Director
hopkinsw@vt.edu

Kiyah Duffey

Kiyah Duffey

Kiyah Duffey
Director, Strategic Initiatives
kduffey7@vt.edu

Kirk Felton, Fralin LSI

Kirk Felton
Director, Operations
ckfelton@vt.edu

Erin Cassidy

Erin Cassidy
Director, Talent Management
ecassidy@vt.edu

Janet Webster

Janet Webster, Ph.D.
Associate Director, Finance and Administration
jbwebste@vt.edu

Kristin Rose Jutras

Kristin Rose Jutras
Director, Communications & Creative Services
krisrose@vt.edu

horizontal maroon line test

Research Center Directors

Director of Center for Emerging, Zoonotic, and Arthropod-borne Pathogens

Director of the Center for Emerging, Zoonotic, and Arthropod-borne Pathogens: X.J. Meng

Bill Hopkins

Bill Hopkins

Bill Hopkins
Director
Global Change Center
hopkinsw@vt.edu

Guillaume Pilot
horizontal maroon line test

Principle Scientists

Matt Hulver - Director of Fralin Life Sciences Institute. Photo courtesy of Alex Crookshanks for Virginia Tech.

Matt Hulver
Principle Scientist, Steger Hall
hulvermw@vt.edu

Dennis Dean

Dennis Dean
Principle Scientist, Fralin Hall
deandr@vt.edu

Bill Hopkins

Eva Schmelz

Eva Schmelz
Principle Scientist, Integrated Life Sciences Building
eschmelz@vt.edu

Birgit Scharf

Birgit Scharf
Principle Scientist, Life Sciences 1
bscharf@vt.edu

Boris A. Vinatzer

Boris A. Vinatzer Principle Scientist, Latham Hall
vinatzer@vt.edu

horizontal maroon line test

Administrative

Angela Worrell, Fralin LSI

Angela Worrell
Executive Assistant to the Director
atworrell@vt.edu

Jessica Zielske

Jessica Zielske
Coordinator, Global Change Center
jcoker@vt.edu

Sharon Stacy

Sharon Stacy

Sharon Stacy
Coordinator, Center for Coastal Studies
sharonstacy@vt.edu

Sarah Gouger

Sarah Gouger
Coordinator, Center for Emerging, Zoonotic, and Arthropod-borne Pathogens (CeZAP)
sgouger@vt.edu

Crystal Founds

Crystal Founds
Coordinator, Translational Plant Sciences Center
crystalf@vt.edu

Jessica Zielske

Linda Casey Caudill
Managing Director, GlycoMIP
lcaudill@vt.edu

horizontal maroon line test

Education & Outreach

Kristy Collins

Kristy M. Collins
Director, Education & Outreach
kdivitto@vt.edu

Kristi DeCourcy

Kristi DeCourcy
Director, Biotech-in-a-Box
Senior Research Associate
decourcy@vt.edu

horizontal maroon line test

Facilities

Julia Gregory

Joseph Hoeflein
Director, Facilities & Research Operations
jhoeflei@vt.edu

horizontal maroon line test

Information Technology

generic placeholder image

Charlie Ruble
Manager, IT
cruble@vt.edu